Scot of the Year: Since 1988, The Caledonian Society has presented an annual Scot of the Year award at the Burns Dinner. We recognize a person of Scottish descent in Hawaii, who has made contributions to the community and Society.


The Selection Committee reviews nominations for Scot of the Year based on the following criteria:
-nominees need not be Scots, but must be strongly Scots at heart;
-they should have made significant contributions to the community where they reside in Hawaii;
-they should have made recognized contributions to the Scottish Community in Hawaii;
-they should show pride in their Scottish heritage; and/or
-they should have made significant contributions to the Caledonian Society of Hawaii.


Scot of the Year

1988 Donald MacGregor 2002 Rhoda Hackler
1989 Ramsay 2003 Helen & Bill Wynn
1990 Douglas Gibb 2004 Heather MacGregor
1991 Roderick McPhee 2005 Bruce McEwan
1992 Alex Anderson 2006 Neil Abercrombie
1993 John D. & Frances Holt 2007 Donald Munro
1994 Lawrence Coleman 2008 Donald P. McDiarmid, Jr
1995 Alison Kay 2009 Doug Herring, Hardy Spoehr, and Harold McKeen
1996 Terence Knapp 2010 Hamish Burgess
1997 Marguerite Roach 2011 Ian Laing, Dan & Mary Peddie
1998 Alexander Pratt 2012 Susan MacKinnon
1999 Kalani Brady 2013 David Walker
2000 Lillian Cunningham 2014 Jackie and Larry Phillips
2001 Dick Scott Clack  


In 2007, the Caledonian Society decided to choose a profession or field and honor a person of Scottish descent who has excelled in their chosen field. This award was given the name of the White Heather Award, as the white heather is rare and special.

2012 White Heather Awardee

Vincent Evans for Master Craftsmanship as a bladesmith creating historical weaponry

Prior White Heather Awardees:
Year Field Awardee(s)
2007 Legal Samuel King, US Federal Judge
2008 Education David and Wendie McClain
2009 Journalism Burl Burlingame
2010 Entrepreneurship Dwight Damon
2011 Musical Excellence Celtic Pipes & Drums of Hawaii


Macintosh HD:Users:susanmack:Desktop:Screen Shot 2015-07-06 at 11.04.09 AM.png Flowers of the Forest                 

Harold R. “Sandy” McKeen III, passed away on March 9, 2015. He was born on October 26, 1942.  Sandy was a longtime member of the Caledonian Society, served several terms on the Council, and for some years was the Hawaii coordinator for local observance of National Tartan Day.  Our condolences to his family and friends. 

Sandy McKeen with Betsy Walters

Copyright Caledonian Society of Hawaii, 2004 | | Contact Us